Investing small money

Fishmasterdan

Dryer sheet wannabe
I am new to hole investing this. Wondering were would be a good spot to park 5k every 6 months. I was looking at Roth iras but don't like the idea of waiting till 59.5 to access them when I plan to retire at 58?? Any better options??

Just thinking it would be better to have cash in an accessible fund vs a savings account

I am new to hole investing this. Wondering were would be a good spot to park 5k every 6 months. I was looking at Roth iras but don't like the idea of waiting till 59.5 to access them when I plan to retire at 58?? Any better options??

Just thinking it would be better to have cash in an accessible fund vs a savings account

IIRC, you can take the money you contribute to a Roth out at anytime. After all you have already paid the taxes on it. It's the tax-free earnings - the children, grand children, great grandchildren..... of you contributions - that have the age limit. And there are some ways to get around that, though not as a lump sum withdrawal.

Keep in mind if take out your contributions, then they will no longer earn tax-free income. I would thing [-]twice[/-] three-times about that. YMMV.

You can always withdraw the original contributions you make without penalty at any time.

Let's say from 48 to 58, you have put $6K each year into Roth. By 58, you have contributed $60K over 10 years. Suppose that the stash has grown to $100K. You can withdraw the original $60K anytime, at any age, without penalty and taxes. The restrictions are only for the $40K gain.

See this for more details: https://www.schwab.com/ira/roth-ira...w contributions you,earnings in your Roth IRA.

Roth IRA is a good place to put your after-tax savings, because the investment gains are accumulated tax-free, while the original contribution can be tapped if you are in a tight spot, such as loss of job or in an emergency. Roth IRA is a good deal, hence they don't allow it for people with high incomes.