Need some CD knowledge

mattbaxx

Recycles dryer sheets
I am getting unexpectedly involved with my father and his wife's finances (by their request I should add).

They are 91 and 87.

They've got $45K in checking/savings. With their bit of income that will not likely be depleted this year, but certainly next.

They've got $132K in CDs that mature 12/28/2022.

They've moved to assisted living and have an empty house, paid off, $500K. Their son has responsibility for the house. I can only provide counsel. If he sells the house this year all is well.

If he doesn't, what do I need to ask the bank about the CDs? Early withdrawal fees? Turning off auto-renew for next December? I don't want to get locked into another year accidentally.

I have no experience with CDs so just want to know what I'm missing.

Banks generally have some sort of grace period, typically ranging from one to two weeks, during which time you can close an auto-renewed CD without penalty. You can usually also inform them of your intention in advance (on a form they provide -- often at opening -- or later,in a letter of instruction).

A bank may also send a reminder notice that a CD is maturing, a month or so prior to the maturity date, and can ask for instructions then. But with a move to assisted living (change of address) and possible house sale, you'll need to have mail forwarding in place by December. And/or directly provide the bank with a change of address.

And, yes, in case the funds in the CD (some, or all) are needed prior to maturity, you'll need to find out the bank's "EWP" (early withdrawal penalty) -- which can vary both among banks their certificate "products."

However, before ANY of the above may be inquired, be sure to first have in place a POA (Power of Attorney) . . . or else the bank will likely not answer any of your questions, or even register a change of address.