New Dog

congrats. We got our new pup at the beginning of the year. He's been a big handful but well worth it.

Cute dog. We need something like that to happen to us. We have been looking for a dog for awhile and keep on applying through the SPCA but so far no luck.

I've had great luck adopting through breed-specific rescue groups like the Aussie Rescue Placement Hotline (ARPH). Smaller breeds also have rescue groups like the Bichon Rescue Brigade.

I find that the breed rescue groups show a lot of concern for fitting a dog into the correct home. Usually they have the dog in a foster setting where the dog's personality is observed before it's offered for adoption. That can reduce any surprises when the dog arrives at its new home. I'm concerned that there are some independent rescuers out there that do little more than flip dogs. I have some experience there too.

...........I find that the breed rescue groups show a lot of concern for fitting a dog into the correct home. Usually they have the dog in a foster setting where the dog's personality is observed before it's offered for adoption. That can reduce any surprises when the dog arrives at its new home. I'm concerned that there are some independent rescuers out there that do little more than flip dogs. I have some experience there too.
I agree. I've adopted two greyhounds through greyhound homing groups and having the dogs fostered first to know their strengths and personalities is a huge plus. And if the dog doesn't work out, they will take it back and re-home it to a better fit. Actually our first greyhound was initially returned because she was a bossy alpha that beat up on the other dogs in the house, but she loved being an only dog in our house.

Last edited: