Ok to eat Red Meat 4 times a week....No Cancer Risk.....

capjak

Full time employment: Posting here.
As a scientist I have always questioned much of observational research that concludes this is good or this is bad.....Here is an attempt to review some of those studies......I can not support or disprove these statements but it is not surprising that the observational studies are suspect......

"You DON'T need to cut out red meat: Scientists say official advice on eating less beef, pork and lamb is based on bad evidence and having it four times a week poses 'NO cancer risk'
-Researchers from Canada, Spain and Poland issued the contradictory advice
-It goes against the stance of the NHS and the World Health Organization
-Red and processed meats are officially classed as 'probably cancer-causing'
-But the scientists said past research is been of too low quality to direct people

https://annals.org/aim/fullarticle/...bROLtDKVIGcFyStTmAGTyel7I7woyD8COZGOpurze8GdQ

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/...AfIqua4Oqvz26By5cUqRkNjvzi8s37uYU1AhA5_WwK3TM

The problem with the probably carcinogenic status of red meat by the WHO is that it is based purely on observational studies, and controlled trial evidence was ignored. Why were controlled trials ignored? Well their carcinogens group IARC has the attitude that it’s not ethical to do controlled trials on something that’s a possible toxin. Why this means ignoring trials that have already been done, I can’t imagine. None of the controlled trials indicate any relationship between red meat and cancer. Only the observational studies do and many of them lump processed meat and red unprocessed meat together. And even those the risks are tiny. Relative risks might look large, but the absolute risks are small (that is what inflates relative risk), so it doesn’t matter much at all, even for processed meat.

Given the food politics in the public health nutrition area I take their pronouncements with a big grain of salt.

Last edited: