OpenDNS problem 8/30/20

steelyman

Moderator Emeritus
I don’t know if this is isolated to me or my location but I ran into a frustrating Internet problem this morning.

Zero Internet connectivity that I couldn’t fix by the usual update/reboot of modem, router & devices. Everything appeared up and running based on LEDs and the internal network was OK. My ISP (Spectrum) reported no outages in my area.

Then I remembered that I’d changed DNS settings on my router to OpenDNS from the default (ISP-provided). I did that a while ago and all seemed well until today.

Logging back in to my router as administrator and reverting DNS settings fixed things. Quite disconcerting to lose Internet access during a pandemic!

If I hadn’t remembered my prior DNS change I’d still be scratching my head (if I could find my.head.org).

I worked in IT all of my professional career. I learned a long time ago, don't fix it if its not broken. (Except maybe patching)

OTOH, I've learned more about how things work when I "fixed them" to make things better and then had to unfix them.

No DNS or ISP problems here (Kinetic) but I have been having a few problems with Firefox recently not working properly on a few website pages... I just use another browser when that happens.

Last edited:
I have been having problems on and off this morning also, get message that can not locate IP address for several sites, located in NW PA and on Spectrum.

that's odd. i also was having internet problems this morning. no connection even though everything looked good on my router. unplugged everything, went and mowed the lawn, came back and it works fine now.