Perplexity, new AI search

CDRE

Recycles dryer sheets
I have been using Perplexity for a couple of months and enjoy the free service and power of using AI search. Here are a couple of excerpts from a WSJ article today (might be behind paywall):

"Perplexity, an artificial-intelligence startup aiming to challenge Google’s dominance in web search, is finalizing a new funding deal at around a $1 billion valuation, people familiar with the matter said, roughly doubling its valuation since its most recent financing a few months ago......

.....Perplexity’s search tool answers user queries with a detailed summary and links to where it pulled the information. Users are then able to ask follow-up questions. The company has seen an uptick in subscribers of its premium service, which charges $20 a month for a more powerful version of the search engine that uses GPT-4, OpenAI’s most advanced AI model"

Have you tried the free or paid version of Perplexity?

I have been using Perplexity for awhile now. I think it's a great tool and I especially like the fact that it's free.

Using Copilot and Gemini.

I use Google but isn't one of the big problems with Google search is the bias toward sponsored (paid) search hits?

I'll give an example.

In Google I search for "outboard motor bracket for canoe stern sailboat"

As a human, you look at that question and it is pretty easy to figure out, right? It is quite obvious I am wanting a bracket for a motor to mount on a canoe stern sailboat.

Google returns hits like:

48 Pcs Motor Fixing Bracket kayak motor rack canoe ...

Amazon.com
https://www.amazon.com › Bracket-inflatable-accessory...
outboard motor bracket for canoe stern "sailboat" from www.amazon.com
PSEQT LED Boat Navigation Lights Bow Stern Red Green Marine Strip Light Waterproof for Yacht Kayak Fishing Pontoon Sailboat Bass Boat Vessel DC 12V-24V.
$48.59 · ‎ 30-day returns