Ready with questions

Tangerine

Confused about dryer sheets
I've been enjoying the forums since 2013. I'm probably within 5yrs and finally posting! :cool:

=================
Basics:

Retirement age: 55?
Death age for planning : 95
No kids, no spouse, no dependents

=================
Assets: 2.6M

Allocation: 62% equities, 17% bonds, 21% cash

401k: $114k (S&P 500 index)

Cash: $334k (Savings/Checking/Currencies)

Vanguard: (stock/bond index funds)

• Total: $1,637k, 72% equity, 22% bond, 6% cash(TIPS)
  • IRA: $981k, 76% equity, 24% bond,
  • Roth: $106k, 90% equity, 10% bond,
  • After-tax: $551k, 61% equity, 39% bond, 18% cash(TIPS)

House: ~$450k (paid off)

Income
- Pre-retirement: $200-250k/yr engineer @Megacorp
- Early retirement: Live off after-tax savings
- Once SS starts: Rough estimate shows I'll have an additional $2100@62, $3100@67, $3800@70 per month.

=================
Liabilities/Expenses:

No debt.
Typical annual expenses measured one year a couple years ago: $45k/year (did not include healthcare)

=================
Firecalc: 45 years

- 100% with 80k spending
- 99% with 85k spending
- 96% with 90k spending

=================
Questions

Q: Can I retire at 55 (or now)?

Well, I suppose the answer is yes. Just a matter of spending/expenses I guess. I'm still enjoying working currently. I took a couple years off earlier (2014-2016). Traveled some, but generally felt I wasn't doing much. But am really enjoying working again (teamwork, big goals, ...).

Q: Long-term-care insurance? When do people buy LTC? How do you get info about LTC?

Q: Asset usage order?
Early retirement: obviously I'll be living off after-tax assets. But which first? Cash/Roth/Index-funds?
Once I can access retirement accounts, what order?

Q: What to do with cash?