Retired last year at 55 yo

BruinBones

Recycles dryer sheets
Greetings. I am a retired surgeon who reached financial independence a few years ago and finally pulled the plug on clinical practice last year. Fortunately, I had been doing a lot of things with regard to personal finance correctly even before discovering Bogleheads and White Coat Investor about five years ago and Early-Retirement.org about a year before retiring. Even though this is my first post here, I could no longer remain a lurker and withhold my gratitude for the countless advice and inspiration I receive(d) from this site.

My first year of FIRE has been mixed. I certainly am more relaxed and healthier (mentally and physically) than my last several years in medical practice. I enjoy bicycling, yoga, home projects, and spending more time with my wife and 3 dogs. My wife retired 8 years before I did. We had grand plans to expand our international travel but have not done so yet with ongoing Covid restrictions. (We consider a large part of vacationing for us is maximizing relaxation, and we currently feel that testing, distancing, masking, and other international requirements would diminish that - YMMV). Another unplanned distraction is that our elderly parents have developed serious medical problems, so we have spent much of the past year traveling to the 2 other states where each of them lives helping with their care. We feel fortunate that we are in a position to assist them and put there needs ahead of our leisure at this time.

I do have a part-time j*b that I enjoy that takes only 3-4 days a month of my time, so I can still take advantage of 1099 benefits and Roth IRA contributions. My withdrawal rate for the first year has been just 2.4% of my portfolio.

So thank you if you've read about me this far, and thank you for the collective wisdom that is dispensed from the active posters of this site on a daily basis.

Namaste

Welcome aboard. It sounds like you are off to a good start.