Roth IRA and Roth Contributory IRA

fh2000

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I have a Roth IRA with Vanguard. I have a Roth Contributory IRA with Charles Schwab. I googled the difference. Looks like just how the account is funded. My Vanguard Roth IRA was funded through conversion from traditional IRA. My Charles Schwab Roth Contributory IRA was funded through Nondeductible IRA. I really do not know what the difference is between these 2 conversions.

I like Charles Schwab Chat support. You can get an answer really quick any time of day. I also have a debit card with no foreign transaction fee from them. So, I would like to transfer Vanguard Roth IRA to Charles Schwab Roth Contributory IRA.

I chatted with Charles Schwab. The agent said they are the same Roth accounts, so it is fine. But I have no experience so would like to see if anyone encountered any issues to transfer between these types of accounts.

Continue doing my own research, and found a Roth IRA 5 year rule, table view. Since I am over 59.5 so only below 2 conditions apply:

"OVER AGE 59.5
LESS THAN FIVE YEARS SINCE OPENING FIRST ROTH IRA

Contributions: Tax-No ;Penalty-No
Conversions: Tax-No; Penalty-No (Taxable Portion)
Conversions: Tax-No; Penalty-No (Nontaxable Portion)
Earnings: Tax-Yes; Penalty-No

OVER AGE 59.5
FIVE YEARS OR MORE SINCE OPENING FIRST ROTH IRA

All Distributions Are Qualified"

I am thinking merging 2 kinds of Roth accounts should be fine, as long as I leave the funds there for at least 5 years after the merge. I may leave them forever and pass on to the heir.

It's fine to merge the accounts. You don't need to leave the funds for 5 years after the merge. Since you are already over 59.5, all of your withdrawals from any Roth you have will be fully tax free 5 years after the first Roth was opened, even if that account has since been closed.