Stock basis

Venturer

Full time employment: Posting here.
Help please. When I retired in 2019 from My 25 years I had to move all my company stock out of the employee stock purchase plan. I had been buying the stock thru payroll deduction for about 22 of the 25 years I was there. I had an account with Scoottrade/Ameritrade so I contacted them about moving the account to them Everything got moved and I was good--I thought. In Jan.2020 We decided to get my wife a new car and I sold some of that stock, about $34,000. As I was looking at my account today I noticed that it showed my stock basis for that stock to be $0.00 with a gain of $34,000 so I think I may be screwed on my taxes because of this. I started buying the stock when it was $12.00 a share and it was around $1000.00 when I left the co. so I don't know exactly what my basis should have been but I know it wasn't $0.00. Is there any way I can fix this so that I won't owe as much in taxes now or in the future?

You are not stuck with using a zero basis... it is just that Scottrade has no idea what your basis is. Your former employer might be able to help... they "may" have records of what you bought and when and therefore your basis... or alternatively what the annual withholdings from your paycheck were (I'm assuming that you are not one of those rare people who kept everything for the last 22 years). The reality is that you'll have to cobble it together as best you can.

You started buying stock before brokerages were required to track the cost basis of your shares, so the broker that was keeping them for your company probably just sent over $0 records to Ameritrade when they transferred the account. (I'm actually kind of surprised that they transferred the account for you. When DH retired, Morgan Stanley refused to send his ESPP shares to our main broker because of the tax reporting requirements. They would only send his RSUs.)