Suggested Book to Learn about investing

want2wander

Dryer sheet wannabe
Hello,
I am so happy to discover this forum. I am enjoying reading the posts and learning so much. I hope to learn a lot more and would like some help. I am 50 years old….have a 401K spread over some mutual funds that I chose with the help of a CS account manager. That’s where it’s been for at least 10 years, just lackluster, going nowhere really. One fund stared with 5 stars….now it’s at 3 stars, when did that happen? I realize now that no one takes care of your money better than you do. So here’s the question…..what books do you suggest reading to learn more about investing and growing your money. I don’t plan to become a day trader in a year or anything like that. I just want to understand investments and money and I am a true beginner.
I will be 53 in 3 years, and I would rather be 53 and smarter with more money for retirement. Any and all suggestions are appreciated. There may be something on an earlier post, but I didn’t see it. Thank you for your help.

This link lists some books that are pretty good:

Investment Books

I have read, and would highly recommend, the first four books on the list (Bernstein, Swedroe, Larimore et al., and Ferri). I have read some of the others as well, and they are all worthwhile. You can get most or all of them at amazon.com and also at Barnes and Noble.

Excellent response from want2retire.

Based on advice here I started with The Four Pillars of Investing, which I felt was a real eye opening experience.

Recently I have read Retire Early Sleep Well by Steven R. Davis. While not strictly about investing I found it very interesting, especially in the area of "slice and dice" asset allocation and retirement modeling.

At the same time I also read Work Less, Live More by Bob Clyatt (who is well known on this forum), which was also a very good book.