Suggestions for traveling to Barcelona

GerardManson

Confused about dryer sheets
Hello everyone,

My name is Gerard and I am a happily retired mechanic from Fort Collins, CO. My wife and I are currently planning a 2 months trip in Europe from September to November (if our dear COVID wants it...)

We have looked at the typical cities: Paris, Madrid, Rome, Berlin, Barcelona, Athens, etc.

Regarding Barcelona, I have heard a lot of good things about this city. I guess it is way more different than here! I have found some beautiful online resources [MOD EDIT] but I am still not able to figure out what the best neighborhood for old people like us would be.

The Raval and the Gothic neighborhoods seem very beautiful but a bit too noisy and dirty. I have seen that the Eixample is classy and close to the center. However, I am also a bit afraid that hotels could be more expensive there...

Have some of you been to Barcelona? Where did you stay? Are there some places where we must go?

Also, don't hesitate if you have some other European cities to recommend :)

Thank you everyone in advance and have a wonderful day,

Gerard Manson
Fort Collins, CO

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi Gerard, We stayed at the Hilton Diaganol Mar in Barcelona. It was a beautiful hotel, about 2 miles from the main sights so you'd have to cab it or walk if you're so inclined. Of course the Sagrada Familia and the Gaudi architectural buildings are the must see places but we also rented a car and drove to a beach town called Sitges and enjoyed it very much.

When we did our trip to Barcelona, TAP Portugal Airlines had a great deal, where the airfare was significantly less if you stopover in Lisbon, which is what we did. What a wonderful city that was. After Lisbon, we flew to Madrid, stayed there a few days and then took a train to Barcelona.

Have fun!