T Minus 4 years

firemediceric

Recycles dryer sheets
As you can discern from my screen name, I am a firefighter/paramedic. Come November 1, 2022 I can retire with 85% of my salary plus some supplements that will put me at just above 90% of my average salary for the past 5 years. At that time I will be 54 years old.

Currently 9% of my salary gets deducted from my paycheck to go towards my defined benefit pension. Money also comes out for union dues, insurance and contribution to a 457 retirement plan. Those will all be expenditures that will go away upon retiring, the effect of which puts me at a net of above 100% of what my take home is now.

With the above numbers in mind, my monthly retirement check will be at least equal, more likely several hundred dollars more, to what I am currently taking home. I am debt free. Anticipated expenses in retirement however give me pause.

The largest expense that I am concerned with is the cost of health insurance. I currently pay roughly $260 per month for insurance. If I continue to purchase it through my employer after retirement, it will cost me $800 per month. That’s the current rate for single retirees. You can be sure it will increase. I chafe at the idea of paying what’s nearly equivalent to a mortgage payment for insurance that I hope to use minimally.

Another fly in the ointment, due to negative changes in my personal life, I am recently divorced and no longer a homeowner. Upon retirement I would like to move out of state to an area more suited to how I envision my retirement. I’m leaning strongly towards eastern Tennessee.