TurboTax: Now what?

statsman

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
So, I missed the part prior to purchase where installing TurboTax on my PC from disk now requires an Intuit account. I don't have one, nor do I want one. Just more invasion into personal privacy. Assuming I don't want to continue, what are other options? I've been using TurboTax since 2000.

Edit 1: Apparently, my TurboTax online account I created years ago and used once carried over to Intuit. It had my username, phone number, and email address. I just needed to create a new password as the old one didn't adhere to their password rules.

Edit 2: The activation screen is just spinning dots without going further. I haven't entered in the license code yet. Been doing this for 3-4 minutes so far.

Last edited:
So, I missed the part prior to purchase where installing TurboTax on my PC from disk now requires an Intuit account. I don't have one, nor do I want one. Just more invasion into personal privacy. Assuming I don't want to continue, what are other options? I've been using TurboTax since 2000.

Edit 1: Apparently, my TurboTax online account I created years ago and used once carried over to Intuit. It had my username, phone number, and email address. I just needed to create a new password as the old one didn't adhere to their password rules.
Once your info is on the net, you are toast.

Edit 2: The activation screen is just spinning dots without going further. I haven't entered in the license code yet. Been doing this for 3-4 minutes so far.
Seems I am required to execute TurboTax in administrator mode for Windows. Thankfully, I found that advice in the FAQ rather than wait for a response from customer service.

I have the online version and-- so far --- haven't had any problems. Is this because you're installing it instead of online?

I have the online version and-- so far --- haven't had any problems. Is this because you're installing it instead of online?
Desktop installation. Purchased from Costco.