Type "A" will stay busy no matter what

J

John Galt

Type "A" will stay busy no matter what

Being a Type A personality really helped me in business,
but less so in personal relationships. Anyway, not knowing how to "keep busy" in retirement will never be
a problem for me. This is true even though several favored activities have ended since I retired for good.
Basically, everywhere I look are projects just begging to be tackled; the house (s), the cars, the motorcycle, the boat, you name it. Of course, it would be better if I enjoyed puttering with this stuff. Usually I do not.
However, "keeping busy" is not a worry. It seems many
folks stress about that. Really foreign to my way of thinking.

JG

Re:  Type "A" will stay busy no matter what

JG,
How many times can you paint the house?

I hate to paint and most other DIY projects as well.
Plus, I am not good at them. On top of that I am quite fussy and am rarely satisfied with anything I tackle
around here. Just today I was looking at a new boat dock. I explained to the salesperson what kind of
arrangement we have. The words "easy" "simple"
and "no problem" peppered her side of the discussion.
I am quite sure this would be true for anyone with a bit
of mechanical aptitude. Alas, I have none. The result
is that anything the least bit tricky gets hired out.
Then if it's screwed up I have someone else to blame :)

JG

Anyway, not knowing how to "keep busy" in retirement will never be
a problem for me.

For my friends and relatives who are RE, keeping busy doesn't seem to be a problem, either. I think a couple of them are busier now than when they were working full-time.

Basically, everywhere I look are projects just begging to be tackled

Funny, that sounds like my house: Besides the household stuff, I have a very large pile of books to read and several sewing/quilting projects waiting for my retirement!