Victim of Identity Theft

Keim

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I got a call about a week ago from the Small Business Administration. "Hi. I'm calling about an Economic Injury Disaster Loan your name is on." I told them I was unaware my name was on any such loan application. A bit of back and forth quickly determined they were looking at a falsified version of my drivers license with correct number and address, and incorrect physical characteristics. (I don't have a fu manchu beard, and haven't weighed 215lbs since I was a freshman in high school)

Further talk indicated the application was taken out to benefit a nonprofit in a town where I and my company have previously been involved in suspected fraud (Details here for the curious that want a REALLY good story:
https://www.early-retirement.org/forums/f28/best-walk-off-the-job-story-112567-3.html#post2722576)

I do not know in what way my name was on the application. In support? Listed as an officer? Etc.

I have taken the following pre-cautions-am I missing anything?
1. Fraud alert with all major credit companies. (Experian, etc)
2. Contacted other potential fraud victims that were involved in previous incident.
3. Notified both my personal and my insurance companies insurance agencies.
4. Notified the board of my company.
5. I have not notified my bank, but check my accounts several times a week anyhow. Should I?
6. Cussed. A lot.
7. Verified call was actually from the SBA.
8. Made police report.
9. Hired a lawyer. Lawyer is trying to get SBA to release a copy of the loan application to us. Will see where we go from there.

Thoughts?

Last edited:
Probably done as part of #1, but I'd put on a credit freeze, and get my credit report from all 3 agencies and look for any activity that I didn't initiate.

I'd also do more of #6. Sorry you are going through this.