Were you nervous when you retired?

Absolutely! Reworked our numbers about a thousand times and also met with a financial planner/advisor. Everything said yes. Was still concerned about stepping off, so to speak. It’s counterintuitive to work so hard to get a job and to work so hard to keep it and then to voluntarily walk away from it into a untested future. All my efforts however paid off. I’ve been retired for almost two years and the planning worked perfectly. It was absolutely the right decision.

My retirement date is fast approaching in December. DH retires 11/2.

As a nurse I completely understand where your coming from. I have had some second thoughts myself. I am making the most money I have ever made as a nurse and walking away seems counterintuitive to me right now. We move back to SoCal in December. I could keep my job and travel here once a month for 8 days with all the headaches that entails or I could look for work close to home at 50% of what I make now. Neither sounds appealing. So retirement it is.

I am nervous I am excited I am crazy but it’s happening.

Good luck to you!

I was never nervous.
I worked very hard for relatively little. I have always been able to enjoy a lifestyle that fits my income. Sometimes it’s caviar, sometimes tuna. Both are good.

I was quite concerned about anxiety after I retired. The opponent happened. I was relaxed, and began enjoying my life. I retired at 59.5 years young and have never looked back. Enjoy your retirement.

I was only nervous about the large amount of stock options I had to cash, and figuring out the tax implications. It spiked a bit when the stock market became volatile. Everything else was relatively calm.