What % of your portfolio is "experimental"?

dtbach

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
The majority of my portfolio consists of index funds and VG Wellington and Wellysly. About 92%. I also have about 3% in cash.

Then I have a Fidelity account that I use to play around with Sector funds. I have been keeping track of my core funds rate of return since 2009 (and of course my FIDO fun account)

So far the fun account is ahead by about .6%. But I might still hit a home run with one of the Sector funds and then is "Go on a cruise time":dance:

My whole portfolio (66% equities / 5% bonds / 29% cash) is considered "experimental" as I do not trust any of them to be really safe, meaning guaranteeing positive returns, or not losing to inflation.

However, I try to conduct only "safe" experiments, hoping that nothing is going to blow up in my face.

Last edited:
I have used a little as play money, but never that much. Less than 1%. None at the moment though.

Depends on your definition of experimental, but using my deviation from Four Pillars as a benchmark, the 5% of my portfolio in VGELX (Energy Sector) might be considered "experimental" - though it's just Large Caps so hardly experimental IMO. Otherwise my holdings are all classic Four Pillars with small, value, emerging markets tilts.

I also have half my bond holdings in VFSUX (Short Term Investment Grade) if the OP considers that experimental.

Last edited:
I probably have about 1% in my "experimental, which sounds more experimental than some of the others. I own a few biotech companies and some shares in other small companies that could "hit it big"....or not.

I call it my "fun" portfolio as I sell/buy funds much more aggressively than my other funds. Don't consider it necessarily unsafe as I've spread the $ out among about 7 sectors. This is the one area I will use "timing" to buy sectors that I feel are undervalued. In 8 years I have not had any "disasters" but no doubles or triples either.