Why don't lawyers retire early?

67walkon

Recycles dryer sheets
I'm a 63 year old lawyer who has been in private practice my whole life. We're not rich, but we have plenty of money to live a reasonably decent life and we have no debt. I'm leaving the work force on April 1, 2013.

All the lawyers I know seem amazed. "What are you going to do?" "You'll be bored". "You'll miss the intellectual challenge." Etc., etc.

Looking around my community, there are lots of lawyers who are anywhere from 1 or 2 years older than me to 20 years older than me, still working. I ask myself why? Surely, most of them have enough money to get by, but maybe not.

Lawyers who work for the government or big corporations retire, but it doesn't seem many in private practice do.

I wonder why?

Because you can work until you're dead, and make the big bucks, while scre*ing over the little folks?

(Just a comment from one who has been working with elder law/estate lawyers, for more than a few years, on behalf of my disabled son).

You may like my answer, but you asked the question. I answered it based upon my experience, over many years...

Last edited:
Lawyers who work for the government or big corporations retire, but it doesn't seem many in private practice do.
Because they're in control of their life and their hours, and they see no reason to change?

If you enjoy what you do then you tend to keep doing it until you find something else that you enjoy even more.

There's a certain sector of society (usually guys) who keep the office and the routine because they enjoy it, because it treats them well, and because it provides a buffer/lubricant over having to spend time at home. Frequently their spouses prefer it that way too.

My 2 cents: To persevere in our profession into one's fifties and beyond takes a certain mindset and drive. Many/most of the people who have that mindset and drive see the job as being the same as life and can't conceive of themselves in any other way.