"developers, developers, developers..."

SoftwareDeveloperII

Dryer sheet wannabe
Hello, I'm a 23 year-old software developer -

Anyone on this forum a software developer?

...from northern VA, near the government capital of the nation.

For the past year I have been systematically eliminating every student loan I've taken. Except one for about $3,500 that's at 2.480% variable interest. Only reason it's not paid is I'm scrambling to save for a down payment on a home before the first-time homebuyer tax credit expires (Nov 30). I'll try to buy a house for < $70,000 at a 30-year fixed mortgage rate. I actually discovered this forum on Google when I was investigating my mobile home options.

I drive the same beater I've owned since high school and buy my "casual" clothes from WAL-MART.

The most volatile expense I have is food. Anyone else?

My "plan" is to retire using my Roth IRA with substantially equal periodic payments (SEPP) since planning to retire on interest-only seems too optimistic. My current employer has a Roth 401(k) plan I use. It matches contributions. Currently I have 90% of this in Media and Telecom. stock.

I enjoy building useful websites in my spare time and would like to supplement my income using ad revenue. (I do wonder if anyone really makes any significant money with that).

I don't have any illusions of entering upper-level management because I couldn't imagine hating my job for 20+ years. I admire the fortitude of those on this forum who have endured that. I don't expect my salary to reach six figures in the next decade.

Next year I plan to apply the homebuyer tax credit savings to SOMETHING and that is a huge unknown to me.

Hi,

I'm a 23 software developer myself too, lurking in shadows most of the time. I also like to build websites and put ads on them, I'm planning on being FI next year.

No dept, car, etc.. very frugal. Living on my parent's home :)

Keep it up :cool: