Hello from Western New York!

Lucie

Recycles dryer sheets
Hello! I’m a longtime lurker, finally ready to introduce myself. :greetings10:

I am a 53 PhD Psychologist and DH is a 59 PhD Professor. We have the assets to FIRE, but I love my job and suffer from chronic OMY. After DH suffered a major heart attack in January, we are considering winding down over the next few years. His HA, aka the “widowmaker” was out of the blue, no risk factors other than being a little overweight and sedentary. No problems with cholesterol, BP or family history. I have poor longevitygenes, with mother passing at 53 and father at 65. After DH’s scare, it is evident that the time to FIRE is drawing near.

About me: I have 3 children, the last of which will be graduating from college this December. The oldest received her MBA at age 22 (humble brag) with about 5k of remaining student debt. The other 2 have no loans, unless they attend grad school. We have no debt and own our home, a rental home and a vacation rental in Costa Rica, all free and clear. I come from a blue collar family and have worked since my first paper route at age 10. I bought my first duplex at age 19 and paid for my undergraduate and graduate education by working multiple jobs. I am somewhat financially savvy and we have always lived below our means. I believe we are all set. We have a revocable trust, LTC and Umbrella insurance. DH’s University provides health insurance plans until we each reach age of Medicare. Firecalc and Fidelity RIP both confirm that we could retire now with 3% SWR.We were planning on cutting back to half time in the future, prior to FIRE. DH will continue with his web design consulting. We look forward to escaping the cold winters by snowbirding in our Costa Rican Condo.

Thank you for all the wisdom provided on this forum! It has been extremely helpful and validating!

Pura Vida, Lucie

Hello! I’m a longtime lurker, finally ready to introduce myself. :greetings10: