Exit ramp ahead!

More Cowbell

Full time employment: Posting here.
Hi there! :greetings10: I've been reading E-R forums for years but finally registered this year. Since my FRA is 67 (who moved my cheese?), I still qualify for E-R membership.

DH and I are FI (mid 7 digits), no kids, no mortgage, no car loans, no CC debt. Pensions with COLA already coming in for us both, but no health benefits. DH is on Medicare, I have a few years to go, so paying for health insurance. Both delaying SS until 70 (long-lived ancestors). I’ll be affected by WEP and GPO, have my 40 quarters though.

DH retired from Megacorp in 2020 at FRA, straight into teaching 2 classes/year at a local university. I’ve been teaching P/T for 20+ after 15+ years at my prior tech career. For the past 5 years I’ve taught at a local university (not DH’s).

We like teaching, interacting with students keeps us sharp. Plus it's only a 10 minute walk to the trolley station and a 20 minute ride to our campuses. But this year we decided to teach only 1 class/year. Next year, though...?

It’s finally sinking in that we have more than enough assets to last our lifetimes. Time to go places and do things we want to do and enjoy each other's company while we are both relatively healthy. After 40+ years since we first met, we still like each other!

Would love to hear your stories about the best parts of retirement to encourage us! But please, like the song says:

Accentuate the Positive, Eliminate the Negative!

I am now 85 and have been retired for 15 years. My late wife was brain injured and I had to keep w*rking to keep our medical coverage.
I remarried a few years later, and we have been through what someone called the 3 phases of retirement: GoGo, GoSlow, and NoGo.

I wanted to show DW the world, and we made 50 trips in 10 years, We then slowed down until COVID hit, and we have not traveled since.