Need recommendation

Rosalita

Dryer sheet aficionado
Hi All - I've been using Harris Direct as my brokerage firm for many years (and through many mergers over those years), but I believe I've reached the end of my tether. E-Trade bought Harris late last year, citing Harris' reputation of excellent customer service (which E-Trade intended to keep!) etc etc - well for over 3 weeks now I've been trying to contact someone at E-Trade to get access to my brokerage and MMF accounts, to no avail.

So I'm about to move my accounts over to another institution - can any of you recommend a good solid brokerage company, that believes in low-cost and easy on-line trades, good customer service?

Thanks
Rosalita

They aren't the cheapest (but very competitive), but I have had good experience with Schwab.

I have a brokerage account with fidelity. I get $11 trades I believe. That's for account balances higher than $50,000 or $100,000 (can't remember which).

Welcome to the board, Rosalita.

justin said:
I have a brokerage account with fidelity.  I get $11 trades I believe.  That's for account balances higher than $50,000 or $100,000 (can't remember which).
I've been with Fidelity for just under 20 years. I've been trading stocks on their website since the late '90s.

Never had a problem. Never been patronized or condescended to. The website just keeps getting stronger and offering more features (like trailing % sell stops). The trades just keep getting cheaper & faster. The documentation & communication keeps improving. My dumbest questions are answered as if I was paying them six-figure commission revenues and the trading desk doesn't play waiting games.

It might be worth asking if they'll give you free trades for opening a new account or for having one of us refer you. I bet they're getting a lot of Harris/e-trade alumni this month...

I also use Fidelity and have been very happy with them. Their customer service has been outstanding.

Sheryl said: