New member, fed up with working and wanting to RE

AS2019

Recycles dryer sheets
Hello, thought i'd introduce myself. I'm 47, have a 14 year old daughter, divorced. My net worth is around $2.1 M, $600,000 of which is the house (paid off). I have a job that pays well, but the BS-to satisfaction ratio is getting pretty high. I could change jobs, but that would require moving to a different city due to job market/non-compete clause (yes, I know these aren't enforceable), and would result in a significant pay decrease most likely.

I've been pondering the idea of ER for several years now, and I've been moving in that direction as fast as I can - reducing spending, increasing savings, paying off all debt.

The work situation is becoming more uncertain by the week. My company, historically a very strong, local company, was purchased by a national corporation 4 years ago. The corporate policies have crippled us. We are starting to look better and better as an asset to be sold rather than a cash cow that brings in money. But that decision will be made by executives many levels above me, and there's not much I can do about it. And even if the company is sold, I would still have a job - likely at a lower pay scale.

So for now, I'm along for the ride. I've run every financial calculator I can find, and if my company implodes tomorrow, I will be in early retirement and be just fine. However, it would be nice if it could just hold out for 3.5 more years until my daughter graduates high school. By then I have a projected net worth of $3M, and would have some breathing room.

Wish me luck. :)

Good luck and hopefully things will shake out properly for you. That's a fine net worth [particularly for 47 and single]: 1.5 million excluding the very nice house for Tulsa! Breathing room is good to have though--especially when you are talking retirement at 47-50 with no pension or health insurance going forward (assuming that's true for you).