Thinking about when to RE

DrRoy

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
Hello all. :greetings10:

I discovered this site a couple of days ago, and registered yesterday to really give it a go. I noticed that a lot of users hung around as a guest for a long time before signing up, but I thought it was important to post as part of the experience.

Regarding my user name: I am not a doctor in either sense; that’s just my initials. It is something that a work friend called me and I went with it.

The background story: I am a very happily married (33 yrs.), empty-nested, mid 50’s chemical engineer. Our 2 adult sons (late 20’s) share an apartment nearby. We own our home and have no debt. We like to travel, and regularly vacation around the US, Canada, and Europe. My favorite hobby is photography, which I mostly do on these trips. I sometimes like to collect things, and have been through phases of acquiring coins, glass paperweights, and rock/mineral specimens.

My VDW stopped working a few months ago. She doesn’t call it retirement, but does not want to go back to work either. She was a part-time bank teller for the last 10 years, but after the second bank takeover, the new company had a policy that she could no longer take unpaid time off to travel. That was unacceptable to both of us, and because we didn’t need the income, she quit.