A Most Depressing Conversation

JWV

Recycles dryer sheets
Ok, I had to get back to this board because people on the outside aren't sane. :eek:  Today I was in a conversation with a couple of co-workers, one a manager and one a "project coordinator" (I'm just a lowly staff nurse).  The gist was another co-worker wanted to quit the Master's program provided by our employer (I quit, it sucked, I hate people who grade APA format over content, but that's another rant) and the coord type was prodding her to continue by reminding her that she had little in her retirement account and asked her "Do you know the difference in what you get for Social Security when you are 65 compared to when you are 70?  Do you want to still be doing bedside nursing when you are 65?"  At this, once I picked my jaw up off the floor, I replied: " You're not planning to still be working at 65-70, are you?"  Non-plussed, they both looked at me and said: "We'll all be working until we're 70!" Of course, I replied loudly "I'm not!"  :p At which they shook their heads in that knowing way that people do with a child.  Oh, my, god, they were serious!!

I'm so glad to be back in the land of the sane.

Judy

You have some pelotas JWV. If I told people that I work with that I don't plan to be working much when I am 53, they would look at me like I was planning on dying young. They would pause, tilt their head like a beagle hearing one of those whistles that humans can't hear, and wait for me to explain my terminal illness. People who believe that they will be working until they are 65 or 70 have not seen the path to FI.

We'll all be working until we're 70!" Of course, I replied loudly "I'm not!" Tongue At which they shook their heads in that knowing way that people do with a child.

Not depressing at all! - They will help us save Social Security! - They won't be drawing it and will continue to pay in. And probably even die working. Social Security will be running a surpluss for a long time!