Bruised my RV and my pride...

Yes, I do remember reading about this (I spent too much time here!). It was caused by a roof overhang, right? (Pat myself on back for having some memory facility left). As I have often written, I do careful study of things I have no experiences in, to learn from others mistakes and not for schadenfreude reasons.

Rich, Sorry to hear about your mishap. We have all had them. Ours was a lesson in how to secure an awning early on. I learned to always be sure one side is much lower than the other and the front is much lower than the part attached to the camper. I also use awning stakes now. A storm came up one night on our third trip and filled the awning with water. It collapsed breaking the supports and retractor. $800 later and two hours to put the new one on I would know better next time.

Also always carry a spare and a good jack and wrench to change a flat. Did that in Utah this summer. The tire blew going down the interstate but I had prepared for this and was able to pull over and change it with no trouble.

Sorry for the accident Rich. Don't feel too bad. My old neighbor that never drove anything bigger than a large car, bought a 40' coach.The dealer must have sensed that he would'nt be able to drive it offered to deliver it to his house. My neighbor decided to get his feet wet right away. He pulled up to the street from the lot and made quite a hard right turn into a parked car on the corner and then dragged the coach down the entire length catching every compartment in the process.Hows that for christing your new toy. I didn't know that you bought a new rv. What did you get. Best of future luck with it, Jerry:cool:

Regarding RIT's mishap and about maneuvering through state or Forest Service land, I don't see class A owners being able to do it. I probably did the right thing by getting a class C. For me an A is just too big, and a B feels small.