Hurricane house

NOLA

Confused about dryer sheets
We (wife and I )live in New Orleans. Thinking of getting a second home on higher ground that would be our evacuation home. Ideally be able to rent it periodically to help defray the expense.
Why don’t we move permanently? Grandchildren. And we loved the restaurants, festivals, plays, Mardi Gras we enjoyed pre covid and hope to enjoy again.
Any gulf coast residents have experience in getting a evaluation home?

I do not live anywhere near hurricanes, so I have no experience, please pardon if these don't make sense.
My questions
would you plan on living there the entire hurricane season?
If not, at what point would you evacuate and if everyone else is on the road, you may not be able to access it.

I do not live anywhere near hurricanes, so I have no experience, please pardon if these don't make sense.
My questions
If not, at what point would you evacuate and if everyone else is on the road, you may not be able to access it.

No would not be full time during hurricane season. But that’s an idea. . Hurricane usually move slowly enough so you can get out of the way. So would plan to leave once city in in cone of uncertainty about 48-72 hours before forecast landfall.

My questions

FIL built a beautiful home on Marathon Key, halfway to Key West. He always said if there's a hurricane route 1 is open with all lanes running north. Maybe that was true but they couldn't even get to route 1 before they ran out of gas. He moved back to Ft. Myres after hurricane Andrew.

OP depends on how many times you have to go right? Are you going to drive? How would you feel if you evacuated for naught? Would you only rent it out during hurricane off-season? What would you do if you rented it out for a while but a hurricane was just forecast?