New(er) Car

Jay_Gatsby

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Folks,

I respect the economic wisdom and disciplined frugality of the board, so I thought I'd ask for some opinions on the purchase of a new(er) car to replace my 1994 Honda Accord. Specifically, because of my professional obligations as an attorney, I'm looking at 3-year old used "near-luxury" cars, namely, Acuras and Infinitis. Anyone have additional suggestions? I'm looking to try and spend no more than $20k, so feel free to tell me that's just not possible.

Thanks in advance.

There's a thread here somewhere written by a guy who regrets buying a 700-series BMW. Send him a PM. :)

This is going to sound crazy, :eek: but why not buy American.
You will find a new Chev Impala is actually a very fine car.  The new Ford 500 is nice as well.  Some of the Buicks stand up very well in the ratings.  Would give you a chance to buy new.
A used Lexus is probably OK, but get a bad one and you will pay and pay and pay.
A little side story here.  A lawyer I know always drives very modest cars,  like those I mentioned above.  I was ribbing him about his unlawyer like choice of cars a few years ago and he replied::
Just because those other guys are pompous jacka$$es doesn't mean I am.  Of course I told him "really, you could have fooled me"
Truth is, this guy was a master investor and would not for a minute think about spending big bucks on a frivolous set of wheels.  He also had a habit of dressing down as much as he could get away with.  I think that made more people (clients) feel comfortable with him.  Like he was actually human ::)