Poll: Who pays for their news?

Do you have one or more paid news subsciptions?

• I have a paid subscription to a local newspaper/website.

Votes: 45 24.6%
  • I have a paid subscription to a statewide news source.

Votes: 6 3.3%
  • I have a paid subscription to a national news source.

Votes: 59 32.2%
  • I do not pay for any news subscriptions.

Votes: 73 39.9%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Never heard of the Babylon Bee, so I just looked it up.

Between the Onion and the Babylon Bee, you've got everything you need.

The Onion calls itself "America's Finest News Source", while a motto of the Babylon Bee is "Fake News You Can Trust".

Last edited:
Printed newspapers are essentially a thing of the past.

Most newspapers in our region don't reflect the thoughts of their readers and the news is very slanted in another direction.

Local television stations are also a dying breed. And news is where their profits are generated from. Unless there is a storm coming, I never watch local television.

Come to think of it, I look at little of the "big 3" national tv channels "prime time" television shows. Satellite television just has so many other shows to watch.

Our carrier is so good that s/he does a bank shot off a wall, and lags the paper up to the door s/he can not even see! I am impressed. Hope s/he remains our carrier. Oh, and s/he RUNS to and from the elevator - I assume so that s/he can catch the elevator before it leaves. THIS year at Christmas, there WILL be an envelope on our gate for our carrier! YMMV

I hope the rest of you continue to let some of us reminisce, especially our Chicago friends.