Tips for learning how to play guitar?

I a slow learner for sure, but I did sign up with a local teacher and lessons start this saturday. It is still a challenge to quickly perform a chord without some buzzing/muting. I also have a hard time repeating/memorizing a scale without going very slowly and checking the scale's diagram.

You have to develop calluses on you fingers and you will only do that by practicing regularly for a couple of weeks. Pick a favorite artist. Start with simple songs from that artist. It's easier to learn a song you are familiar with and that you want to play. When I started playing guitar in the early 70's, I listened to guitarists such as Jimmy Page, Jimi Hendrix, Peter Frampton, Steve Howe, Santana, and Joe Satriani. Learn to play rhythm guitar first with open chords and then bar chords throughout the fretboard. After you develop calluses, learn your scales. Learn the major scale and then blues, natural minor, pentatonic, and dorian mode scales.

I a slow learner for sure, but I did sign up with a local teacher and lessons start this saturday. It is still a challenge to quickly perform a chord without some buzzing/muting. I also have a hard time repeating/memorizing a scale without going very slowly and checking the scale's diagram.

That fantastic! Eventually I would like to take lessons.

I've learned that slowing down a lot really helps at getting the chords to sound good (most of the time) same with scales- I start super slow making sure to get them correct and also play them forward and backward, up, down. This has really helped me to remember different sets of scales and definitely builds the muscle memory in my hands! It 's amazing how much improvement you will see over time!
Keep strumming, picking, plucking and having fun!!:clap: