Worst course ever taken in school or elsewhere!

aja8888

Moderator Emeritus
I was poking around the "relativity" thread here and realized what a difficult concept to understand that was (is). There were all kinds of theorems and references to other papers to help clarify what is really an abstract concept. Yeah, that was clear...

Wow, I thought! I must be pretty dense.....then I started thinking back to my college days as I can't remember much about high school (LOL) anymore...except the girls...:D

What dawned on me was that there was one course in my field that had me scared, or maybe terrified, that I would not be able to get past or past with a poor grade.

I graduated engineering college with a 3.88 GPA (Magna Cum Laude) in Mechanical Engineering and I worked my butt off to do that. The only course I had anything but an "A" in was Differential Equations (Diff E as we called it).

My engineering courses and calculus courses were all given by professors in the Engineering Department. But Diff E was taught by the Math Department. I'll never forget the first day in that class with the room full math students and a prof that filled three blackboards with all kinds of theorems and other symbols. Wow! And after a few days of this, we had a short "test" of which I thought I did well......But my score out of 100 was 20. Yes, 20. :facepalm: