advice on cutting the umbilical cord

mrfeh

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Hi folks.

I'm planning on ER in 3 years, assuming no major market downturn. I will be 50 at that time.

I'm in my peak earning years, and I still enjoy my job (most days :cool:). Also, once I leave my job, as an older software engineer, I may have trouble getting back into the profession if a bear market forced me to start working again.

I've done all the planning and firecalcing to know we're in good shape financially. I could probably retire today, if I really had to.

For those folks that had similar thoughts before walking out the door - how did you deal with these issues mentally?

Thanks.

I boil it down to 2 questions:
1) Do I like my job? If the answer is yes, then why the rush to retire?
2) If I'm not working, what will I be doing? If there is something you REALLY want to be doing other than working and you are ok financially, then do it.

I haven't done it yet, and I'm sure you'll hear from others who have, but for me, my mental process would probably go something like this:

1) Will I be able to sleep at night if the market tanks? If yes (due to an appropriate asset allocation, then go to 2).

2) Do I know what I will do all day? (That's easy - travel, hike, bike, play with the dog, volunteer more than I can do now, spend more time cooking and reading, etc...)

Getting past #1 is the harder part, for me, but I know people who can't answer #2 very well, and those are the people who say they can't imagine retiring early -because they imagine sitting in a bathrobe in front of the TV all day.

Sorry folks, I must've phrased my question poorly.

When you don't hate your job and you're making good money, how to stop the thoughts of "just one more year of income, to pad things a bit"?

Lol! You have just hit on one of the forum's most longstanding discussion topics. Just search for "one more year".