Anyone try Amazon.com Grocery?

ERD50

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I just noticed it today. Anyone try it? It would seem to make some sense to have staple items delivered (if their prices are as good as Costco). Looks like you can even set up a schedule.

DW does most of the shopping. W/O getting out the receipts I wouldn't know if the prices are good.

I don't think I can link directly - go to

http://www.amazon.com/

and you will see 'grocery' on the left sidebar a ways down.

-ERD50

I attempted to buy some stuff from them. They kept revising and pushing out the ship dates. Seemed like anything with a decent price never shipped. The one item I got from them had a very near expiration date vs stuff I found on the shelf at the store that was a lot further out.

Maybe they worked out the kinks by now.

I just cruised the products and it seems to have a lot of the trendy types of stuff. On the plain vanilla products I use as a scratch cook, I found they are running 20 to 25% above local retail and I usually snag the sales. This stuff is not only out of my price range but the quantities are way off. I will not use 12 bottles of mustard relish in years!!! With the volume of items carried it would take forever to select a grocery order and be too costly. It would be ok IF you wanted to pick up some gourmet items to make food gift baskets. Other than that, I am calling this a big flop.

My DW once used an online grocery. She ordered horseradish and they delivered a root thingy. We were glad they didn't have any horses there :LOL:

Maddy the Turbo Beagle said:
I also priced some items and overpriced...
Pop-Tarts, the standard by which everything is measure against ;)
run $1.96, local food lion will have $2.00/box on occasional sales,
I haven't check Walmart recently, but usually are about equal to
Food Lion's sale price. So with free shipping, they would be a
bit cheaper, not having to sit in line would be a plus. netgrocer.com