CT retirement income now tax friendly!

ExPatKiwi

Recycles dryer sheets
As a CT resident I'd made up my mind to move to a low/no income state for retirement. So it was a surprise to find out recently that CT is becoming retirement tax friendly. Imagine that!

I've been crunching the "tax" numbers and they make retirement in CT look much more attractive such that I may just retire here and start my ROTH conversions.

In 2019 CT introduced new thresholds so there is no state income tax on social security payments with a 100% exemption if federal AGI is below $75k for singles and $100k for joint filers. If AGI is above $100k/$75k then its a 75% exemption.

Next they have introduced tax exemption for pension (401k, tIRA)and annuity income that is recorded on line 5b of your federal 1040.

The exemption ramps in over 5 years (see the table below) impacts pension and annuity income for singles and joint filers with adjusted gross income (AGI) levels of up to $75k and $100k respectively.

TAX YEAR % EXEMPTION
2019 14%
2020 28% LAST YEAR
2021 42%
2022 56%
2023 84%
2024 100%

Last edited:
Sounds like they are trying to prevent a mass exodus as boomers reach retirement age.

In Ohio we've had SS exempt from state tax for a long time. I think it's for all income levels. Tax exemption (even for partial) for pension would be LOVELY!

This is somewhat good news as we will retiring to CT from NJ...I know crazy, eh?
So, above 100K AGI, SS has a 75% exemption, and is the same true for tIRA/401K income?

Quick search suggests CT has been loosing population for several years. No idea of the demographics involved nor if state taxes are implicated.

Hawaii has also lost population during the same period and it has had many exemptions (most pensions, SS, some 401(k)) for several years. In fact, HI seems to favor its Senior Citizens (Kupuna) in most financial ways controlled by the State. YMMV

NY exempts $20,000 for pensions/IRA withdrawals. Also no Social Security taxes.