Got enough to retire? Think again

Thanks for the link. Hey, at least there is one advantage to having earned a low salary (under $50K) all my life--it takes far less to replace it than would be the case had I been earning six figures.

Quote: You'll need just 70% to 80% of your pre-retirement income to maintain the same standard of living when you leave work behind.

Anybody who would make a flat out statement like this is not a logical thinker. I got a $10 subscription to Money Magazine last year. They sent me an offer to renew at the same price. I believe in trying to get good value for my money, so I did not renew.

Thanks for the link. Hey, at least there is one advantage to having earned a low salary (under $50K) all my life--it takes far less to replace it than would be the case had I been earning six figures.

LYBM and paying off the mortgage are crucial components of ER. I've never understood the 80% pre-retirement income requirement once you've retired.
For a start they should use expenses rather than income. Once I've ERed my commuting costs will go down and they'll be no mortgage. I don't see much else changing so my post retirement expenses will be about 30% of my pre retirement expenses

I see that a lot in sources like Money Magazine.

They have the article where some silver haired stallion wants to retire and of course needs to replace 80% of his 180k salary the lifestyle. In fact sometimes one sees articles that pshaw at 70-80% saying you'll need closer to your working salary because of rising medical costs.

As sstated by previous poster it's a matter of expenditures, not income. I can't conceive of someone saving a large percentage of their income and planning on having their mortgage paid off by the time they retire needing anywhere near the salary of their working years.