How safe is a pension?

DayDreaming

Full time employment: Posting here.
This might be a dumb question but I've never been sure just how safe a pension is.

I'm 47, leaving my job of 25 years next week - not ER yet, but moving to another company. With my current employer, I have a pretty good pension that I can start collecting as early as age 55.

Will that pension still be there at same value I expect it to be when I want to start collecting it at 55, 60 or 65? It's a big pharma, unlikely to ever go bankrupt but fairly likely to be bought out or merged into an even bigger pharma. Are pensions protected by the U.S. government, or is that only for government pensions?

I'm no expert, but i play one on the boards :cool:

In general, most private pensions are covered by the PBGC, which is badly overtaxed the past few years due to ...

Large companies defaulting (or going bankrupt) and sticking the government with their pension liabilities. The PBGC may or may not cover all pensions (you could probably find out), and certainly will not guarantee the same level of benefits.

We (the country) are probably entering a long term period of inflation and broken promises -- and many of these could include government promises. The private sector is broken too -- just look at the ongoing fiasco with mortgages and bonds and the shady companies that sold and, supposedly, insured them. >:D

In short, you have reason to worry about the future of your company and/or your pension...but there is probably not much you can do about it, except to try to save up some money of your own that you can invest and control as you see fit.

I agree with pedorrero.

The Wikipedia article on the Pension Protection Act of 2006 is here:

Pension Protection Act of 2006 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia