How to calculate safe withdrawal rate for early retirement

Well, maybe that's just me being nit-picky again. I just don't like people telling me that what I prepare for in case something bad happens is actually something I believe will happen, or that I have rules that others must follow, so I get a little defensive. Peace. :flowers:

Heh, heh, as I always tell DW (with a BIG smile): "We'll let it go - this time.":LOL:

There's no need to plan to 120.

With both DW & I in our 50s, 30 years is likely all we'll have, so I don't really consider retirement in one's 50s as particularly "early."

Even though DW is the spitting image of her maternal grandmother (died age 97) she still has, IIRC, a less than 1 in 4 chance of surviving into her 90s.

Last edited:
I have never used the portfolio visualizer site before, but am intrigued. I started filling in the blanks, but got stuck on what to put in for the "Mean" percentages for allocation of each asset class. This is probably pretty basic, but could someone please expain what/how this is used? Many thanks!

@Retire2023 are you on the Monte Carlo Simulation page? I don't see the option you referred to.

https://www.portfoliovisualizer.com...&asset2=TreasuryNotes&asset1=TotalStockMarket

@Retire2023 are you on the Monte Carlo Simulation page? I don't see the option you referred to.

https://www.portfoliovisualizer.com...&asset2=TreasuryNotes&asset1=TotalStockMarket

Yes, on the Monte Carlo Simulation. I am using the GARCH Model under Time Series Model (not sure if this has an impact). Under Asset Allocation, I am selecting the percent allocation for each of my asset classes and the far right column asks for the Mean % for each allocation I entered. I don't know what to put here, and it will not continue until this is entered.

There's no need to plan to 120.

With both DW & I in our 50s, 30 years is likely all we'll have, so I don't really consider retirement in one's 50s as particularly "early."