IRA contribution amount limits

franklin64

Confused about dryer sheets
I am 59 years old and currently working on a contract basis for a company. I plan on staying there for the next 6 years and I have been investing in a Roth IRA for the past 20+ years.

I also need to get as many tax deductions as possible to lessen my tax payments as a contractor. I am trying to establish what my contribution limits are, I have access to a simple IRA, which I know can be over $15,000 and the Roth IRA is $8000.

My question is: how do I work both of them together? If I put $8000 in the Roth IRA, am I done? Or am I allowed to still make a contribution to the simple IRA to help with the taxes?

I have too much money sitting in one account that is liquid, so I would also like to get as much money as possible into an IRA-type account so I am not paying capital gains.

Any advice would be helpful.
Thanks

The tricky part of this is that the Simple IRA would not be tied to the place I work; it would be tied to me as a self-employed contractor.

The company may have an IRA program that I can access; I will have to check.

Thanks

When you are self-employed you can start a SEP-IRA which I think has more generous contribution limit tied to your earnings not a fixed number.

You won’t be able to contribute to a company IRA program where you are not an employee.

If you go the SEP-IRA route, I believe your deductible contributions may be around 20% of business profit. That is how it worked for me. I started with that many years before Simple IRA came along.

I think the best answer derives from your gross earnings, because Roth-IRA gets phased out. Here is a Bard link which explains, and includes references. https://g.co/bard/share/a0bf16330bdb

I know that last year my son-in-law chose to use a Simple IRA for my daughter, rather than SEP-IRA or something else.

YMMV.