IRA vs TSP

ascott

Confused about dryer sheets
I am new to the forum and I wanted to seek your opinions on a question I have. I am a retired military veteran so I am collecting retired pay. I am so thankful that I did my 20 years and now I can go on to my second career.

After retiring, I worked 4 years as a contractor and contributed to the company’s 401k plan. I was able to save $ 28k when I was hired for a civil service position. I am currently investing 10% of my pay into the Thrift Savings Plan, TSP.

I was unsure what to do with the money that was in my former company’s retirement plan so I went with to a financial advisor who rolled the 401k into a managed IRA account along with 2 other IRAs.

I’m debating if I should continue to have the IRA account where I am not contributing any money towards and seeing slow growth or if I should roll the IRA into my TSP. I brought this up with the financial planner and as you can expect, he was against moving any money because he has more options on how the money can be invested than TSP offers. I have to somewhat agree, but I still wonder if I am better off moving the money over.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

How has the IRA performed? The TSP is particularly good in having low fees and good index options and the G Fund. It does not have everything, I have 1/3 of my assets in an IRA to hold things like REITs, foreign bonds and some other stocks I like. IMHO, I would use the TSP as the core of a portfolio and only add things the TSP does not have.

Just my 2 cents, but its what I do. I rolled two IRAs into the TSP to get the bulk of my funds there.