Middle, Upper Middle Class Distinction for Retirees

My mother, a born and bred English prole, made a very sharp distinction between a "Toff" and a "Proper Gentleman", and made me promise to be the latter should I ever come into money.

Mine too. She thought anyone who di not speak "The Queens English" was lower "C$#@@" ;). Cockney etc. As per the UK Explanation link above. She sent me to "Public School" until I went to College in England, so what does that make me? PS. "Public School in the UK is like Private Schools in the USA.

A large study conducted in the 40's determined that soldiers who would jump off the 34' tower would jump from any height (there are occasional "passengers" who refuse to exit the bird, but it's rare).

Interesting study. As a pilot, I have always found that once I get above a certain height (500 ft?) I no long have a fear of height. Climbing to the top of a 24 ft extension ladder this weekend to try and fix a loose piece of siding, however, was terrifying.

https://lifehacker.com/the-perfect-salary-for-happiness-by-state-1605278164

I think this link from 2014 pretty much says it all, but it will need 4 years of inflation adjustment. Here in Grapetown in 2014, I needed $76,200 per household a year to be happy. That should take care of all needs except for material things.

I wonder if wine is considered material? Upper Middle Affluent? Classy even? Beverage of lumpen slums of cyberspace champions?

I assume this is based on the Berkeley study that said at $70K the amount of "happiness" one gets from more money greatly diminishes. So I've always seen that as the "cut off" of middle and upper middle... you can be perfectly happy with less, you have all the things you need, but likely have to say no to things you'd like. In HCOL cities, I'd just use a COL calculator to adjust it accordingly.