OK Got Some Money - Now What?

almost_there

Dryer sheet aficionado
I retired at the end of last year and am heading into a brave new world in 2020 (no more paycheck!!). I just sold a mutual fund in my IRA and withdrew the proceeds. Had them withhold 20%. After all the years of putting in this is the first time I have ever taken out. I got a nice big check and deposited into my checking account. So the question is: Now What? Looking to see what people that have lots of experience taking out do. I don't need all the money for immediate expenses. Do I spend some (splurge a little) and just re-invest the rest in an existing after-tax account? Is there any benefit to opening a new account with this money? Do I reinvest in the same security or could this be an opportunity to do some re-balancing? I know there is no single correct answer for this. Just looking for some opinions since I'm brand new at the taking money out part (although it seems like a lot more fun than the putting money in part) :rolleyes:

Treat it like you would a paycheck. You probably withdrew a lot more than 2 weeks worth of money, but still, it's short term money so leave it in cash.

I keep a month or so of expenses in my checking account. The rest of my cash is in Vanguard money market funds, and a CD ladder which will trickle more money into my account every year for the next 4 years.

You need to think about a long term cash flow plan. Don't just move a big chunk of money out of your IRA and use that as a reason to splurge. Think about how much you need per year, how much you'll get from sources like social security, pensions, dividends on taxable accounts. Any shortfall would likely come from your IRA. Have a plan to withdraw from that.

There's a whole lot more to it like trying to manage taxes, possibly do IRA conversions to a Roth, and so on, but you need to start with the basics.