Out of pocket college costs?

Well, they can afford to be choosy, for sure. The year I graduated from high school, they only accepted something like 12% of their applicants. Most of those applicants are, of course, highly qualified folks, so it really doesn't make sense to offer merit scholarships -- they're uniformly talented folks.

2Cor521

More power to them. Harvard's acceptance is similar -- 10%, but the cost of attending is vary attractive. Cost is zero if income is less than $60K/year or 10% of yearly household income for those who make more.

My elder son graduated from UT Austin last year. Total cost including tuition, off-campus apartment rent, food allowance, fraternity dues: $86,472.

Son #2 graduates from Northwestern University this spring. Total cost including tuition, rent, food allowance, travel home 2x a year to Austin, plus one yearly visit to Evanston for his mother and me: $168,972

My daughter graduated summa cum laude from a public university in Tennessee last spring. She had a full scholarship (tuition and books), so the cost to me was less than $10k per year for housing, food, car, etc. I got off lucky. Now she's been accepted to several law schools with tuition alone ranging from $13k to $40k per year (plus everything else). I think she's going to attend one of the pricier ones with a partial scholarship beginning this fall. Even so, I believe I have a duty to help within reason. She's earned it. My folks helped me through undergrad school (but not grad or law), and I agree with earlier posters who believe there is an obligation to help with one's own kids if possible.

........whether you think private education is worth it or not would be good........

Private not worth the double or triple or more cost of public universities in "most" cases.