Paying Estimated Taxes: 1st Time How-To?

Otherwise, she can set up (which she should anyhow) a login for irs.gov and in the site she can make estimated payments without any previous year validation of AGI, because they know it's her.

Okay, I do see that as an option. Hopefully the signup process with ID.me goes reasonably smooth. We will probably try this later. Thanks for the tip.

I have been using the Directpay system since 2017 (2016 tax year, 4th quarter, the only one I use to pay estimated taxes). For state estimated taxes, I began using their electronic payment system since 2014. Both work great, with no problems.

Okay, I do see that as an option. Hopefully the signup process with ID.me goes reasonably smooth. We will probably try this later. Thanks for the tip.

Sadly it did not work. Could not verify using ID.me.

We resorted to making a debit card payment.

Yes, she was going to try EFTPS until I read that they have to send you something in the mail which takes a week or more. And then the problem becomes the "1040" address. She did file in 2021, but not 2020. When signing up for EFTPS I wonder what it asks for. Did not get that far.

That system requires a PIN, that is what is sent in the mail. IRS Direct Pay requires no PIN.

That system requires a PIN, that is what is sent in the mail. IRS Direct Pay requires no PIN.

Yes, I saw that. But if it asks all the same stuff as the IRS account did - before sending a pin in the mail - then that is not going to work either.

Yes, I saw that. But if it asks all the same stuff as the IRS account did - before sending a pin in the mail - then that is not going to work either.

So back to my original answer then - send a check. No checks? Send a money order.

It does not ask all those questions. It’s very easy and quick to use.