Prior Tax Return SNAFU

jimbohoward69

Recycles dryer sheets
I've been doing my sister's federal/state taxes for the past five years. She always gets money back on federal and has to pay state. I've told her to get with her HR/fiscal folks to check her withholdings but that's another subject for another day. The way it's worked is that I submit her federal/state return (via whatever tax SW I'm using at the time) and then find out how much her state tax bill will be. I then log onto the state's Dept of Revenue website and pay the amount due. Note: Her federal overpayment has always went to her checking since I put in her routing/acct number.

Well, I was looking over her past returns recently, since tax season is upon us, and realized that for tax year 2020, I screwed up. I submitted her federal/state return under MY social security number instead of hers. We have the same exact number except for one digit...maybe I was in a hurry, was used to typing in my own SSN, who knows?

At any rate, the state's Dept of Revenue's website currently shows a "credit" in 2020 that equals the amount due. And when you look at the list of actual returns submitted going back to 2017, 2020 is skipped (it goes from 2019 to 2021...so obviously, the state is showing no return submitted).

I'm certain that a state 1040X will need to be submitted regardless. But I guess the bigger question is: Even though payment was submitted and received by the state for tax due AT THAT TIME, could penalties be incurred due to no return being "technically" submitted? I guess that's more of a question for the the DOR but I'm sick knowing I screwed up my sister's return and hope there won't be any long term ramifications. And since I entered my SSN instead of hers for both returns, I ponder if/how that would affect my 2020 return.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited: