Retired with only 300K in ML/ split 60/40

Thanks all,
I try to educate myself, but I'm just a teacher - no background in investing. Never even had a 401K - it's my husbands.

doing the best I can reading these boards.
Thanks for your patience with my questions/ concerns

Thanks all,
I try to educate myself, but I'm just a teacher - no background in investing. Never even had a 401K - it's my husbands.

And probably you're more like most of us than you think. Before I got serious about ER I had no clue, but I learned loads from sticking around here. Not necessarily studying, but it works like osmosis after a while.

Bottom line for you, there were many stories of people selling in 08/09 and not coming back. It's a very natural reflex to want to cut one's losses, but it's the wrong instinct. They aren't losses until/unless you sell.

In 2008 I lost about half my 401k. 150 ish went to 75 ish. (that was all I had then). I didn't sell. By the end of 2009 it was starting to tick back up, and by 2011 we were definitely into a bull. I don't remember when I broke even again, but safe to say it wasn't long, and within a couple of years left prior-highs in the dust. None of that could have happened if I'd sold and put my remaining 75k in something "safe." And I wouldn't have ER'd.

Thanks all,

It's not rocket science. Don't feel intimidated.

"Just a teacher" - you are more than qualified to learn what you need to learn.

You're on a good start by asking here. Of course it's up to you to weigh the opinions of strangers on the internet vs. your professional financial advisor. Just keep in mind we get no benefit from you taking our advice. Your FA does.

Hi all,
so I see the market is down again 1000 points at this moment-
does this seem normal or way beyond normal?
are any of you getting concerned that this is something never seen before with the market?

Hi all,
are any of you getting concerned that this is something never seen before with the market?