timber

zakenjanei

Dryer sheet wannabe
After reading many very good posts here, I've
noticed several people mentioned timber as one of
the asset classes to hold on a diversivied portfolio.

I have no experience in timber investments so I'm
curious...and have lots of questions:

- why should I hold timber, ie. how does timber help
me diversify my exposure and returns? What is the
correlation of timber to other investment classes?

- how do I invest in timber? Specific timber stocks?
Mutual funds?

- what kind of returns can I expect from timber
investments?

- what has your specific experience been with timber
investments?

Thanks,

Joe

After reading many very good posts here, I've
noticed several people mentioned timber as one of
the asset classes to hold on a diversivied portfolio.

I have no experience in timber investments so I'm
curious...and have lots of questions:

- why should I hold timber, ie. how does timber help
me diversify my exposure and returns? What is the
correlation of timber to other investment classes?

- how do I invest in timber? Specific timber stocks?
Mutual funds?

- what kind of returns can I expect from timber
investments?

- what has your specific experience been with timber
investments?

Joe

Hi Joe,

I would recommend reading the last 2-3 years of annual reports from Plum Creek http://www.plumcreek.com Investors Tab (short). They give a good overview as to the benefits of timber and how they manage their 7.8m acres to get the highest return. Also http://www.Rayonier.com and http://www.Timberwest.com to get the other major US player and the Canadian player.