turbo tax still not complete

Ole Red 29

Recycles dryer sheets
For the first time in my life, I downloaded turbo tax and started doing my 2020 tax return early (using all of my estimates). Got to the stock section and got a message that the government hasn't provided that section yet. This is my first year in retirement and I was hoping to confirm the numbers (and my assumptions) in my spreadsheet to zero in what I should pay for my 4th quarter tax payment and also determine how much more I can roll to my Roth IRA and stay in the 24% tax bracket.

How does everyone else do this if TurboTax is not yet fully functional?

I use the previous year's TTax program with the What-If form. You can find it by going to Forms mode (Ctrl+2 or Cmd+2) and searching for What-If. Copy your numbers to a new column and check the box to use the next year's tax rates. Then you can adjust the numbers to account for any changes from the previous year. This generally works well enough if your changes from year-to-year aren't too drastic and the cost of making a mistake is small.

If you have more complex things like the one-time sale of a home or carryover loss limitations, then it can be worth doing a whole new return with the previous year's software that reflects the current year situation. Then you can use What-If and just check the box to use the new tax rates without having to tweak any numbers. This can be a lot of work if you have to setup multiple rental properites and depreciation from scratch, but if you're worried about ACA cliffs and things like that it may be worth the effort.

A combination of trusting my spreadsheet, using safe harbor, and trying to get "close enough". I don't mind paying a few dollars or getting back a few when I file my taxes.