Used Car - First time in many years

Jerry1

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
Site Team
So as I move closer into retirement, I passed another milestone today. I bought my first used car. Now DW and I officially own both our vehicles. She had been leasing for 5 years - since we gave her gently used car to DD and grand kids. I have been leasing for about 15 years. We bought her car new a year ago and it is our "good" car. Today, I bought my car and found a used one that fit the bill.

Normally, I would buy new, but I think I saved anywhere from $8K to $10k buying used. The car is a 2015 and has almost 20K miles on it, so saving over $8K seems to be a pretty good deal. Got the dealer to throw in some extended warranty which included some OnStar and a couple oil changes which made the car very comparable to new. So, a few years old and a few miles on it, but warrantied and over $8K less - I feel pretty good about that.

Main point is that it's a major change in past practice/habit to go from leasing to buying and that helps flex the muscle I need to get myself in retirement mode. I could have easily gone and leased another car or just gone in a bought new, but If I don't change my car spending ways, it would be more responsible to work longer. I'll take changing my spending and a lot of the credit for that insight goes to this group - Thank You.

Last edited:
Buying a late model used car now days is nothing like it was years ago. The cars are better, you have better access to the market, and things like CARFAX improve your odds of getting something that you will enjoy. Congratulations. Enjoy!!