What to do if 1099 reports too much taxable earnings distributions?

Anita

Dryer sheet aficionado
I made a withdrawal from a 403b. After a discussion on another thread I believe my fund manager has over reported my taxable earnings from my distribution to the IRS (or will report at end of year). I have spoke to them but honestly...I can only speak to a call center and no one has been able to explain to me how they derived at my earnings from my contributions over the years. They keep telling me they will get back with me but never do.

Anyway...if I cannot get a satisfied answer from them...how do I figure and report the correct long term gains on a fund I have held for over 10 years for tax purposes? Is there a formula that the IRS uses?
Thanks.

I am no tax expert, but I’ve used 403(b) accounts for years (in my career as a public educator). It’s my understanding that they are tax-deferred investments (meaning the contributions were pre-tax), thus withdrawals and distributions are taxed at your current ordinary income rates. I don’t see where capital gains (short or long-term) would even come into play. Those apply to taxable investment accounts, like stocks or mutual funds held in a brokerage account (not tax-deferred accounts).

Also, you didn’t mention your age, but there may be additional tax considerations for withdrawals if you are younger than age 59 1/2.

I’m sure someone with more knowledge than me can speak to this, but this is how I understand these accounts to function.

I was confused by the question as well. I’m not familiar with 403b plans but I understand they are similar to 401K plans, which are tax deferred, and thus all withdrawals are considered ordinary income for tax purposes.

Perhaps the OP can elaborate on why they believe there was an error.

I'm sorry...its a Roth 403b. My bad. I forgot that important detail :)